Happy Friday Music V

In spite of all the public drama that has transpired recently and feeling soured about the social sites (anti-social) on the net, I’m posting my Friday song. Why? Because I fucking love music and I love sharing it. It’s therapeutic and inspiring in the way that it accompanies emotion like a soundtrack. I can associate many a great song/album/artist to a period in my life. I record my own history to it.

This Friday’s song is from a Canadian songstress, Julie Doiron. She’s a Juno winning artist with a very laid back sound. Though I may use the term “laid back” I don’t mean to imply that her music sounds as if there was an ambivalent approach to it, in fact, quite the opposite. I say laid back meaning the sound itself, the soothing vocals, her breathiness, simple guitar and uncomplicated beat, has something casual about it, as if it knows it was made to be heard and it simply accepts that for what it is.

We’re talking pared down, basic musicianship here. There is a small cast in her line-up. Most of her stuff consists of a guitar, drums and vocals which is rare these days. Artists often dress up the music with complicated mixes of the usual guitar, drum, bass but add to it horns, strings etc, an endless list of possibilities really. Experimentation with sound combinations seems to be a fad in modern music, which is not a complaint, believe me, but it’s a nice break in all the commotion to hear distinct instruments, standing alone in a song. And doing it well.

I take nothing away from her manipulation of the basic instrumentation she employs. Though it stands bare boned as a three-piece most times, it is simplicity that is the most difficult kind of music to make. It’s no surprise she’s an award winner.

Hailing from Moncton New Brunswick, Julie came onto the music scene originally with an indie hero Eric’s Trip in the 1990’s. They broke up in 1996 but have reunited more recently to tour. The song I’m posting is not off of her newest album, “I can wonder what you did with your day” but it is the first song that made me fall in love with her music.

It’s from the Polaris Prize short listed album “Woke Myself Up”. The song is called “No More” and is a fitting statement to end my High School-like drama filled week. It’s one of those songs that you want to sing along to. The lyrics are easy enough to learn, the message is relatable and the rhythm has bounce to it. The video is a rather cute encapsulation of the lyrics and only adds to her sweet irresistability. 

So bid a great big adieu to a shitty partner, a shitty day, a shitty week or a shitty situation with this one. Turn it up, give it a few listens if you want. You might need it. It’s a picture tearing, putting your foot down couple of minutes that you won’t regret taking. You’ll still want to be friends afterwards with this one. It’s too nice not to be.

No More” Julie Doiron

2 thoughts on “Happy Friday Music V

  1. love that write up, Wendy. you should send it to her! it’s a very detailed and descriptive take on the piece and honestly, i think it’s one of the best written pieces you’ve posted on here…and i’m a fan

    • Thanks! That means a lot! I actually thought about sending it to her. I sent the Beth Ditto one to her…no response but I can understand why. I think you may have motivated me to now though. Thanks for the feedback! And the “hunting” this weekend. P.S. Despite being in the shade of trees, I seem to have had a Sun sensitivity reaction anyway. 😦

Leave a Reply

